RSS

Book Review: Shut up and Eat – By Kathy Buckworth

20 May

The word “Shut up” would usually be considered rude – but when you being the main chef of the house and can never seem to satisfy everybody sitting at the dinner table, sometimes you have to say “Shut up and Eat!” –

I recently got my hands on a copy of “Shut Up & Eat: Tales of Chicken, Children, and Chardonnay” By Kathy Buckworth and I honest to god loved it! I haven’t read a GOOD *and funny* parenting book in a while, this one became an instant favourite!

I had heard of/read reviews via Twitter as well as saw many, many tweets about Kathy and her books so I thought I would give it a whirl – Funny, down-to-earth REAL mom stuff. Just the type of book I was looking for. I’m so tired of parenting books being “to the fact” about everything – in real life no mother is that perfect.

From Breakfast to dinner, everything in between and even some of Kathy’s easy recipes included, this book covers it all!

Kathy Buckworth puts a hilarious spin on being the “Chef” of the house – She does it her way! The atmosphere you’re brought into in this book really makes you feel at home – I know I can relate to a lot of the meal disasters and “fun” trying to figure out the daily family meals!

I thought I would share one of my fav recipes, just one, I don’t want to spoil for those who haven’t read it yet!

Easy, Easy, Easy Chicken and Rice Casserole

Ingredients:
1 cup uncooked rice
1 can condensed cream of chicken or cream of mushroom soup
1 7/8 cups water
1 package of dry onion soup mix, or 1 can of French’s Original French fried onions
4 skinless, boneless chicken breast halves

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350°F
  2. Spread rice in the bottom of a 9″ × 13″ baking dish.
  3. Rinse the chicken, pat dry, and place on top of the rice.
  4. Mix the soup and water together and pour over the chicken and rice, evenly. Sprinkle the onion soup or french fried onions on top.
  5. Cover and seal tightly with foil. Bake for 1 hour and 15 minutes.

Kathy Buckworth is the author of several parenting humour books, including The Blackberry Diaries: Adventures in Modern Motherhood; Journey to the Darkside: Supermom Goes Home; and The Secret Life of Supermom. She is the only two-time winner of the Professional Writers Association of Canada Excellence in Humour Writing Award! To learn more about Kathy, her books and the awesome work she does, visit her website www.kathybuckworth.com

Have you read “Shut up and eat” yet? If not, I hope you can get a copy to enjoy! It would make a great mothers day gift! You can buy “Shut Up & Eat” and other Kathy Buckworth books at Amazon or Chapters.

Until next time…Keep dreaming always…

@idream1

 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

 
