RSS

A risky decisions end

15 Jun

I love helping people whenever I can, it’s in my nature. I feel good knowing I’ve helped even if it’s a small contribution. Often people tell me I’m “too nice” because as hard as it is for me to admit it, I have a hard time saying no when it comes to family and friends.

I’m not saying I never say no, I just feel really bad and guilty when I do. Like I’m letting someone down, which I also hate doing.

A couple of days ago an old friend came by. Old meaning we’ve known eachother for a long time but there is distance in what was once a good friendship due to some events in the past.

Anyway just before leaving after an hour visit she put me right on the spot and asked if I could babysit her 7yr old this summer, because day camps are too expensive adding that school ends next week. Shocked at the request, instead of saying “No” I said “Let me think about it”.

The first thing I thought about was money. I was considering selling myself short for what? An extra mouth to feed, take care of and entertain for someone I don’t owe any favours to infact it’s the complete opposite but that’s besides the point. Someone I know is unreliable. Period.

This person knows about my disadvantage of having trouble saying NO. Not this time. I explained that considering the circumstances of our past and such I said No. Politely, but it was still a guilt free no.

This will probably result in her not contacting me anymore but I’m not a welcome mat for people to rub their crap all over and smile about it. Yes, I’m a stay at home mom. And that’s the key word here, mom. I have enough on my plate worrying about my own children and problems without having to add the stress of someone elses all summer long.

Until next time…Keep dreaming always…

@idream1

 
 

Leave a Reply

 
