RSS

The Little Prince Graphic Novel Review and Giveaway

01 Nov

A big part of my childhood memories include books. Books I read in school, books I read at the library or just books we had hanging around at home. When I was a young child I loved to read. One of the most popular stories of my childhood and many others is “The Little Prince” by Antoine de Saint Exupery. It was a sweet, fantasy story about this little prince who travelled planet to planet with fantastic stories to tell. I remember they had even made a cartoon about it as my brother and I enjoyed watching it as much as well.

I was thrilled when the good people over at Thomas Allen & Son Ltd. asked me if I would like to review a new-aged version of the well-known book, The Little Prince: Graphic Novel, a new edition of this beloved story by acclaimed comic artist Joann Sfar. As a long time fan of The Little Prince, this is a refreshing new look at one of my fondest childhood memories, and one of my daughters now too!

The Little Prince Graphic Novel has amazing artwork, unlike anything seen before for this type of story, the drawings create a new aged way to look at a childhood memory. The story is written of course in a comic-book like way, it is pretty easy to read and something I know my daughter will enjoy for years to come as she is just beginning to read. We chose The Little Prince Graphic Novel as our bedtime story the night we got the book. Of course being as long as it is it had to be read in parts over a couple of nights but overall my daughter and I really enjoyed it. The pictures are vibrant and the story itself keeps its original glow. She loves being read to and enjoys most books this one was no exception! Another great book to add to our ever-growing collection for our kids to cherish as they grow up and get reading on their own!

After being stranded in a desert after a crash, a pilot comes in contact with a captivating little prince who recounts his journey from planet to planet and his search for what is most important in life.

For more than sixty-five years Antoine de Saint-Exupery’s The Little Prince has captured the hearts and minds of its readers. The whimsical story with a fairy-tale touch has sold more than 80 million copies in 230 languages. This exciting graphic adaptation features beautiful new artwork by Joann Sfar. Hand-chosen by Saint-Exupery’s French publishers for his literary style and sensitivity to the original, Sfar has endeavored to recreate this beloved story, both honoring the original and stretching it to new heights. A vibrant, visual gift for longtime fans and those experiencing the story for the first time.

The Little Prince Graphic Novel was published October 18th in hard cover and can be purchased online at Chapters and Amazon!

WIN IT: GIVEAWAY CLOSED! THANK YOU TO ALL WHO PARTICIPATED! WINNERS WILL BE NOTIFIED BY EMAIL.

Did you read The Little Prince growing up? Do you have fond memories of a special book? Leave a comment and share your memories about your childhood faves for your chance to win one of 2 copies of The Little Prince Graphic Novel on behalf of Thomas Allen & Son Ltd. and A Motherhood Experience Blog 🙂

*Contest closes November 19th 2010 and is open to Canadian residents only, one entry per person. Winner will be contacted via email.**I received a copy of The Little Prince Graphic Novel from Thomas Allen & Son Ltd for review purposes. Thoughts and opinions on this blog are honest and my own.**

 
8 Comments

Posted by on November 1, 2010 in A Motherhood Experience

 

8 responses to “The Little Prince Graphic Novel Review and Giveaway

  1. Stacy

    November 2, 2010 at 8:13 am

    I have never read this book, however I think I can find it and read it!

     
  2. Chantale

    November 2, 2010 at 10:29 am

    I have never read either this book, but with Audreys imagination, she would love to read it to herself and her younger sister.

     
  3. potenzmittel ohne rezept

    November 9, 2010 at 2:15 pm

    Thank you for another great article. Where else could anyone get that kind of information in such a perfect way of writing? I have a presentation next week, and I am on the look for such information.

     
  4. Jennifer

    November 12, 2010 at 8:48 am

    I’ve never read it either but would love to read it with my children.

     
  5. Nathalie Villeneuve

    November 12, 2010 at 9:57 am

    I remember reading it as a child and now it means so much more to me since I have a son of my own. My grandfather passed away 4 years ago and called my son his “little Prince”. He and my son shared a close bond that will never be forgotten.

     
  6. linda

    November 14, 2010 at 5:58 pm

    never read the book but know that my kids would love it i would like to hear revues about it

     
  7. Nancy

    November 17, 2010 at 7:12 pm

    Hi there, I haven’t read this book but, growing up I was a bookworm myself. My favorite book was The Hobbit. I use to get lost in the world that Tolkien created. Now, I’m raising a bookworm and we are reading The Hobbit together. She can’t get enough of books!

    Well, thanks for a chance to win! I also have a giveaway I’d love for you to enter at my blog! I have 5 FREE subscriptions to give away to a great organizational site for moms, dads & pretty much anyone! No strings attached!

    http://bit.ly/dAN7Hm

    Just leave me a comment on how AboutOne.com can help you! Anyone can enter so feel free! I have 5 & low entries!

    See you on Twitter!

    Nancy
    @WhispersInspire

     
  8. Tara W

    November 18, 2010 at 9:48 am

    I read this book numerous times growing up ‘en francais’ it is a favourite and I would love to share it with students in English and what a great way in a graphic novel!

     
 
