RSS

Another call

05 Nov

Phone calls from school are never usually good. I’m starting to kind of get used to them as K’s school seems to call about anything lately. Last time it was because she was struck in the face by another kids shoe, she wasn’t injured at all. The most recent phone call hasn’t quite settled with me yet.

It was nothing major, nothing anybody did wrong but definitely something that pulled the mom alarm when I was told.

The school suggests K talk to the schools speech therapist for an assessment. K has always spoken with a lisp. S & TH seem to be the sounds giving her the most trouble, I always figured its a phase. I’m used to hearing things like that about her brother, he was born preemie & is on a list for a developmental pediatrician about his speech development but I have never had any concerns regarding K.

So, a permission slip was sent home, signed by me and returned the next day.

It’s not the end of the world, it was just shocking to hear and I as her mother never even thought about it. It never crossed my mind, I just figured that’s how she talks, some kids have lisps! She’s smart, loves to read and write (she’s doing very well).

If she does have a speech problem the worst thing I can do is ignore this request. It’s for her benefit and I’ll do what I have to to ensure her education. I’m happy there are free resources and support offered by her school.

I over analyze situations that worry me, especially when it comes to my kids trying to find a solution even though in some cases like this one there’s really nothing I can do but continue working with her on her reading & writing, wait for another phone call from her school.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on November 5, 2010 in A Motherhood Experience

 

2 responses to “Another call

  1. Jennifer

    November 5, 2010 at 2:59 pm

    I would think it’s more that they are concerned about it affecting K later in life. Even maybe bullied. I know P may need to go in to speech development due to some words he is having issues with but I was also told if they are late or shy talkers that can be an issue also. Keep you chin up!

     
  2. mapsgirl

    November 6, 2010 at 10:14 am

    I think it’s great that the school is noticing these things and offering her some therapy; show that they are observant and wanting the best for their students. Good luck to K!

     

Leave a Reply

 
