RSS

Trust in Mom

10 Dec

K lost her 3rd tooth today 🙂

Every day after school my daughter and I chat while we walk home together. Our conversations are usually about how her day went and what she did, she will ask me how my day went and what I did as well. Today we had a bit of a bonding mommy-daughter moment that made me feel good inside.

The first thing she told me when she got off the bus was all about her front tooth that FINALLY fell out. Unfortunately it fell out while she was enjoying her pizza lunch at school but nonetheless it fell out and the tooth fairy is visiting tonight 😉

After we had walked away from the other kids and parents at the bus stop she told me something in confidence. I wasn’t even allowed to tell her daddy (even though she did once she got home). I won’t break our trust by mentioning exactly what it was here, I did promise her I wouldn’t tell anyone the whole story. After all, they say what you blog about your kids could come back and bite them in the butt one day! Either way she told me about something very embarrassing that happened in school involving a toilet which lead to her having to come home in clothes out of the lost and found bin at school. Not just any clothes, but BOYS clothes. She was humiliated by being laughed at by some of her peers because of the clothes and the reason why she had to wear them, she told me it was just awful.

It felt good to know she trusts me enough to talk to me about stuff that when I was a child, would keep to myself. The worst thing I did was not talk to my parents enough and that’s something I’m trying to build with my kids. That trust that they can come to me for anything and know I won’t judge them. I didn’t judge her for having to wear boys clothes home and I didn’t laugh at the situation she explained to me, although I can see why a bunch of six-year olds would find it amusing. Kids will be kids, I’m glad I’m close with mine and I hope over that the years that special bond doesn’t fade.

–Posted by @AMotherhoodBlog

*All opinions are honest and my own*

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 10, 2010 in A Motherhood Experience

 

Leave a Reply

 
