RSS

Late

05 Jan

I hate being late for things. Anything, if I am expected to be somewhere at a certain time I go on time if not earlier. Being late is a big pet peeve of mine, huge.

This morning I was late, I swear I saw 6:45am on my phone & said “5 more minutes”. The 2nd alarm never rang & before I know it I’m bolting out of bed at 8AM saying “K! Get ready we are late!”

Shoveled breakfast into K, chugged half a coffee, got dressed & off we went. It literally took us only 15 mins to get up & out the door compared to our usual hour!

I was angry at myself for not getting up the first time, knowing we would have to walk but the walk wasn’t that bad. The weather is nice today & I always like walks with K.

She actually thanked me for walking her, saying she missed our chats we used to have walking to daycare when she went. She also apologized, saying she knew she should have woken me up.

My heart broke a little.

I didn’t think I would hear a 6 year old trying to take responsibility for missing the bus and I wouldn’t let her. I told her mommy is the grown up & should have been up earlier, she said it was ok.

She may only be six but she sure is smart…tomorrow I’m setting that alarm earlier, maybe I’ll set 2 to make sure.

– Posted by @AMotherhoodBlog

*All opinions on this blog are honest & my own*

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 5, 2011 in A Motherhood Experience

 

2 responses to “Late

  1. Pat Hart

    January 5, 2011 at 12:08 pm

    With the holidays & everything, it’s hard to get back that everyday routine :0/ mostly in the mornings lol it’s a busy enviroment that’s for sure :0/ I will make sure to put a third alarm on tonight lol For back up purposes but still at times i dont even hear them :0/ lol nice post my love 🙂

     
  2. Jennifer

    January 7, 2011 at 7:56 am

    I hear you on being late. I hate to be rushed out the door but I have had my share of hitting snooze in the last couple years so don’t feel so bad.
    You will be back in the swing of regular routine soon enough. Yikes that said, I go back to regular routine next week!

     

Leave a Reply

 
