RSS

Cheerios First Foods

20 Jan

We all remember the time our little ones were first introduced to solid foods. Exciting times filled with new textures, tastes and the ability to be able to feed themselves were all quite the experience for both myself and baby!

We started introducing finger foods to our little girl when she was about five months old, with our little guy around the same age . It was around that age that they started showing an interest in “grown-up” foods by watching us eat our meals bite for bite, hoping we’d share. We knew it was time to try them out with something a little more tasty than baby cereal to fill their little bellies.

It wasn’t always easy to get them to try new foods though, each one protested for different reasons. New foods are exactly that to a baby, new. What I would do is give the choice between two different foods to try that way lessen the chance to protest because they chose what to eat. It worked for both my daughter and son. No matter what though, it takes patience and its good to start with easy to handle, easy to eat foods like dry cereal.

One of the first finger foods our little ones both began with was of course Cheerios, nutritious and delicious, Cheerios are a great choice for everyone. They are small enough for little fingers to pick up and eat on their own plus they are made with whole grain so I know they are eating right. It’s no wonder moms everywhere have made Cheerios the finger food of choice for over 50 years!

I`d like to tell you all about a great new source of information on the web geared toward new moms: The new First Foods section over at babycenter.ca brought to you in partnership with Cheerios! The new First Foods section has tons of great information including articles and tips on feeding your baby by age, a weekly meal planner and yummy new recipes to try out! I wish this had been around when my two were trying out their first foods!

If you have or know someone with a baby ready for first foods I definitely recommend checking it out!

The Great Cheerios Giveaway!

It`s giveaway time! Cheerios and MomCentral are giving my readers the chance to win a fabulous Cheerios Prize Pack ($50 value!) that includes: A Cheerios On-the-go Tot Container, Cheerios playbook, Box of Cheerios, Bowl and utensil set and a $30 Cash Card!

All you have to do is leave a comment below telling me what you think about the new babycenter.ca First Foods section!

Good Luck Everyone!

@AMotherhoodBlog

*Giveaway ends February 14th, 2011 and is open to Canadian residents only. One winner will be chosen at random and contacted via provided email address.*

*This post was written in participation with the Cheerios First Foods Blog tour by MomCentral Canada on behalf of General Mills. I received a gift card for my participation. All comments and opinions expressed are honest and my own.*

 
26 Comments

Posted by on January 20, 2011 in A Motherhood Experience

 

26 responses to “Cheerios First Foods

  1. Karla Sceviour

    January 20, 2011 at 9:07 am

    I think it is great! I especially like the section on food allergies! Very useful site!
    ksceviour@hotmail.com

     
  2. kara sceviour

    January 20, 2011 at 9:14 am

    I liked the site very much,,alot of useful information, and easy to find what you’re looking for,I likesd the section on recipe ideas for feeding your baby. karasceviour at hotmail dot com

     
  3. Stacy

    January 20, 2011 at 10:19 am

    Very useful site!!

    stacyjohnston03@hotmail.com

     
  4. Gingermommy

    January 20, 2011 at 3:28 pm

    I am really liking it. My little one is 2 and I find it handy, sure wish it was around when I had my first 16 yrs ago 🙂

     
  5. Selmada

    January 20, 2011 at 4:02 pm

    I love that they added this section. I wish it had been
    there sooner, but have already found some good things and will be
    heading back to find more.

     
  6. Ted Kooper

    January 20, 2011 at 9:37 pm

    Great section, the articles are very informative, and I
    like the different foods that you can make at home for your babies
    and toddlers.

     
  7. maria

    January 20, 2011 at 10:08 pm

    A lot of useful info!

     
  8. angela

    January 20, 2011 at 10:12 pm

    Lots of useful info esp for new mommies!

     
  9. Carrie Dodd

    January 23, 2011 at 11:02 am

    I love how there’s recipes and the food is sectioned into by age.

    carrie_dodd at hotmail dot com

     
  10. Belinda M

    January 23, 2011 at 1:06 pm

    I saw that there are lots of articles to help mom’s out with baby. From feeding solids to what baby needs. It is a very informative site, I like it and I will bookmark mark it because it could come in very handy

    bluebelle0367(at)hotmail(dot)com

     
  11. Soozle

    January 24, 2011 at 3:39 am

    I really like the site! There are tons of helpful articles on the site, such as the safety of herbal teas and food allergies.. excellent source of info!

    sbabij2 at shaw dot ca

     
  12. Pamalot

    January 26, 2011 at 1:03 pm

    I appreciate that not only is there information about first foods but also about the entire eating experience.

     
  13. Jennie Yuen

    January 26, 2011 at 7:30 pm

    The suggestions of great foods and finger foods are really helpful. Sometimes it’s hard to think about what to make for my little one.

    sweetcivic604(at)yahoo(d0t)ca

     
  14. Cathy M.

    January 26, 2011 at 10:40 pm

    What a great site. Full of great ideas and information. I was very interested in learning about allergies

    catamorgan (at) netscape (dot) ca

     
  15. Jennifer

    January 28, 2011 at 11:45 pm

    Oh~ We love cheerios and I love your blog 🙂

     
    • Jennifer

      February 4, 2011 at 5:23 pm

      Oops should fully read before commenting. I like how the site also includes preschoolers not just babies and they have games and craft section

       
  16. Sandra

    January 29, 2011 at 9:14 pm

    There are a lot of helpful articles and recipes. I learned that it’s best not to give baby herbal teas.
    wrotek5 at gmail dot com

     
  17. Suzanne DS

    January 30, 2011 at 9:47 am

    I like Let’s Play Section esp. Arts&Crafts

    spdls0215@yahoo.com

     
    • Suzanne DS

      February 3, 2011 at 6:18 pm

      I tried some of the recipes. ANd my baby loved
      Annabel Karmel’s lentil and vegetable purée. 🙂

      spdls0215@yahoo.com

       
  18. Belinda M

    January 30, 2011 at 11:25 pm

    I saw that there are lots of articles to help mom’s out with baby. From feeding solids to what baby needs. It is a very informative site, I like it and I will bookmark mark it because it could come in very handy

    bluebelle0367(at)hotmail(dot)com

     
  19. Glogirl

    January 31, 2011 at 10:25 pm

    The site contains a lot of useful information. A great resource for parents, especially first time parents. I like the articles about what solid foods to feed your child based on age.

     
  20. Auqakuh

    January 31, 2011 at 10:58 pm

    Very informative articles. Very thoughtful of them to provide a weekly caregiver food diary that’s easy to print off. I liked the engaging polls as well.
    rararomp at gmail dot com

     
  21. Jen M

    February 1, 2011 at 5:56 pm

    I learned that herbal teas are not safe for babies! I’ve only been giving mine sips of chamomile here and there, but I’ll stop from now on.

     
  22. Robin

    February 10, 2011 at 10:20 am

    Perfect timing to view this site, was starting to run out of ideas for food for my little guy. I thought it was a good site for mom/dads to go too for ideas. Great recipes, that I will be trying soon.

     
  23. lanie

    February 14, 2011 at 5:54 pm

    The site is very informative. It’s very educational especially for new moms.

     
  24. melanie grenier

    February 14, 2011 at 5:59 pm

    my child love these very much. Always have to buy them and great nutrition facts.

     
 
