RSS

Saving Women’s Hearts

22 Feb


February, although almost over, is still heart month. When you hear “heart disease” who do you picture? Perhaps picturing an elderly man, maybe over weight from a life of poor diet and no exercise sounds right? Did you know that this isn’t necessarily true, bluntly put – heart disease is the #1 killer of women in North America. Turns out it’s not the unhealthy elderly man we should be picturing but that reflection staring back at you in the mirror instead. It surpasses breast cancer as one of Women’s top medical concerns.

Is it our diets? Our ways of living? I didn’t know before but I was introduced to an excellent book called “Saving Women’s Hearts” which discusses exactly that: women and heart health.

It’s a book geared toward women of all ages, educating us about the importance of our hearts and how to reduce the risk of heart disease. Through this book they encourage us to become proactive in guarding our heart health and bring more tuned in to early symptoms that sometimes a doctor may just miss.

Saving Women’s Hearts is written by a cardiologist, Martha Gulati (MD, MS, FACC, FAHA), and a pharmacist Sherry Torkos (BSc Phm). It addresses both conventional and natural medical roles in womens heart health.

Our family has been affected by poor heart health and the risk of it in the family is high, that’s a scary thought.

I was happy to receive this book and after getting a chance to look at it, I felt the need not only to help spread awareness about how important taking care of yourself now is but also to share this great informational resource with all of you!

I can admit that although I try to stay healthy, it’s hard with such a busy life. Eating habits, sleeping habits and exercise routines can be easily lost in a busy week. I learned a lot of facts and things I didn’t know before reading this book including stress reducing activities and what foods to avoid as well as five foods you & your heart will love. Avocados, nuts, red wine, chocolate and coffee (in moderation of course) actually all have their own heart health benefits! Kind of lessens the guilt knowing that doesn’t it ladies? 😉 Reading a book like this is a sure eye opener on a lot of topics related to Women’s heart health.

If you’re looking for information about Women’s heart health, this is a great read. Written for women, about women, by women.

Win It!

To celebrate Heart Month and Women’s healthy hearts I’m giving away a copy of “Saving Women’s Hearts” to one lucky reader thanks to MomCentral Canada and Wiley Publishing.

Mandatory Entry:

Leave a comment below and share why you would like to read Saving Women’s Hearts!

Don’t forget to:
Follow me on Twitter
Like the Facebook page
Subscribe!

*Giveaway is open to Canadian residents only and closes March 9th 2011. One lucky reader will be chosen at random to win a copy of “Saving Women’s Health”*

Posted by: @AmotherhoodBlog

*Disclosure: This post was written in participation in the Saving Women’s Hearts” program by Mom Central on behalf of Wiley Publishing. I received a copy of the book & a gift card as a thank you. All opinions and comments on this blog are honest and my own*

– Posted by @AMotherhoodBlog

*All opinions on this blog are honest & my own*

 
8 Comments

Posted by on February 22, 2011 in A Motherhood Experience

 

8 responses to “Saving Women’s Hearts

  1. Jennifer

    February 22, 2011 at 10:15 am

    I would love to read this book because my family has a high risk of heart disease. I was diagnosed with high cholestrol 2 yrs ago because of genetics.. It is a scary thing to think about and I try my best to stay active and healthy. Thanks for a great giveaway!

     
  2. dsouth20

    February 22, 2011 at 12:49 pm

    Would love a copy of this!

     
  3. dsouth20

    February 22, 2011 at 12:50 pm

    ps. I follow on twitter @fourdayshome and ‘like’ on facebook.
    Would love to share this with the women in my family

     
  4. Glogirl

    February 22, 2011 at 4:54 pm

    I would love to read this book to learn how I can reduce my risk of developing heart disease.

     
  5. Glogirl

    February 22, 2011 at 4:54 pm

    I follow you on Twitter @glogirl3

     
  6. Glogirl

    February 22, 2011 at 4:55 pm

    I like your FB page. (Amy M)

     
  7. Soozle

    February 24, 2011 at 5:26 pm

    I would love to win this giveaway as I am a female in my 30s (as much as I hate to admit that). NOW is the perfect time for me to further continue my quest for keeping myself as healthy as possible. Any additional information (that this book would provide) would be valuable. I also have many female friends and family who could benefit from reading this book as well!

     
  8. Soozle

    February 24, 2011 at 5:26 pm

    I like A Motherhood Experience on FB (Suzanne K)